Cultural Visits: Imperial War Museum

Hello!!!

The Imperia War Museum had exhibits ranging from fashion during the 1940’s to the Holocaust and the War in Afghanistan. My favorite exhibits were the War in Afghanistan 2014 and the A family in Wartime exhibit.
The War in Afghanistan 2014 exhibit took me into the daily life of a civilian during the war and the damages that were caused to their homes and communities. I also got to learn how journalists and the British Army were striving to improve the country in years to come. Most said it would get worse before it starts to improve, but they all have faith that a better Afghanistan is coming.

The A Family in Wartime exhibit was about the Allpress family and taught me how they coped with evacuation and rationing along with other difficulties during the war. There are also reconstructions of rooms from the 1940’s and a dollhouse size model of the Allpress’s home. There is a quiz section of this exhibit that is built into the walls. It’s pretty low to the ground so I assume it was created for children, but I participated anyway. It was filled with interesting facts like how there were no bananas imported into London during the war. There were also shortages on teas and other goodies, so things such as teabags were reused.

Below I’ve posted a few of the pictures that I took while exploring the museum. Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cheers,
Karyn

Leave a comment